State Speech and Debate Qualifiers

The Canton District held its state qualifying tournament on Wednesday, February 17th, at Jackson High School. In addition to taking first-place sweepstakes honors at this event, Perry also qualified 36 members of the Speech and Debate Tournament to the Ohio High School Speech League State tournament, which will be held in Cleveland on Friday, March 5, and Saturday, March 6.
The qualifiers are:
Policy Debate
: Tony Mead and Sarah Liebler, Emily Mayfield and Anna Liebler, Sarah Gellenbeck and Karen Zimmer
Dramatic Interpretation: Justin Woody, Jessica McCallum and Jordan Casteel
Duo Interpretation:Shawn Hostetler and Greg Stockert, Kim Rose and Sean Keane, Miranda Bowman and Shannon Langanke
Humorous Interpretation:Caleb Snyder, Alli Francis, Tiffany Powell and Ben Karam
International Extemporaneous Speaking: Kevin McDougal
Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Amber Mingus
Oratorical Interpretation: Hannah York, Mariah Glascock and Aarika Ladow
Original Oratory : Nikki Lanka and Molly Craig
Prose/Poetry Reading : Jena Kosinski, Amy Smith and Christina Coobatis
Public Forum Debate : Elizabeth Haavisto and Dan Krajci
Student Congress: Matt Talbott, Nick DiGiulio and Mark Solinger
United States Extemporaneous Speaking: Brianna Willits and Matt Meeks