Speech and Debate Team Shatters Records, Earns State Champion Title

53379747_10157064077447673_531079453544022016_nThe 2018-19 Perry Speech and Debate Team has solidified yet another successful season by claiming their second title in a row as Ohio Speech and Debate Association (OSDA) State Champions. Ninety-two schools from around the state of Ohio sent qualifiers to the OSDA State Finals, which was hosted Feb. 28 through March 2 by Jackson High School. Perry scored 85.5 sweepstakes, beating their previous record of 75, set in 2004. Perry’s appearance in this year’s finals now ties them with Austintown-Fitch High School for the most state team championships in OSDA history, totaling six titles.
In addition to the state title, the Perry Speech and Debate team also had four individual state
champions – Nick Loew, Isaac Abrego, Leah Moore and James Condo. Loew and Abrego were
recognized as Policy Debate State Champions, with Loew also earning Best Speaker Award.
Moore won the title of State Champion in United States Extemp, and James Condo was selected
as the State Champion in International Extemp.
Additionally, several students were recognized as finalists: Simon Bailey – Second Place
Informative Speaking, Nick Forchione – Fourth Place Lincoln Douglas Debate, Maya Polen and
Reid Kennedy – Fifth Place Duo Interpretation, Jordan Vinson – Sixth Place Original Oratory and
Micah Morris – Seventh Place Program Oral Interpretation.
Perry Speech and Debate Head Coach John Weaver was also selected to be inducted into the
Ohio Speech and Debate Association Coaches Hall of Fame.
“Perry is extremely proud of the success our Speech and Debate program has brought to our
school over the past years,” said Perry Local Schools Superintendent Scott Beatty.
“Congratulations to the entire team for their success and to those on their individual
achievements. I look forward to what next year has to bring.”

Print This Post Print This Post