Category: News

Speech & Debate Going to State and Nationals

Congratulations to the Perry Speech and Debate Team on their success at the Eastern Ohio NFL District Tournament at Stow-Munroe Falls High School on Saturday, February 19.  At this time, we are pleased to announce that four students will be representing Perry at the national tournament in Dallas, Texas in June.  The 2011 National Qualifiers are:  Tournament Champions Alli Francis and Justin Woody – Duo Interpretation, Matt Meeks – United States Extemp, and Tournament Champion Caleb Snyder – Humorous Interp. Also receiving final round recognition for placing in the top six in their events were:  Haley Smith, first alternate in Original Oratory and Molly Craig – Original; DJ Marlatt and Kanisha West – Drama; Travis Williams – Humor; Alex Gaff and Alaina Harless – Duo Interp, Karen Zimmer, Sara Gellenbeck, Corey Anderson and Shane Zabel – Policy Debate.   (more…)

Kyle Riordan Qualifies to State Swim Meet

Photo Courtesy of

Perry Swimming had a strong showing at the district meet at Cleveland State this past weekend.  Kyle Riordan advanced on to the state meet this weekend at C. T. Branin Natatorium in Canton by taking second in both the 200 freestyle and the 500 freestyle. Personal best times were set by all swimmers including Alex Hamit and Emily Marino, a new school record was set for the boys 400 yard freestyle relay with Tyler Lunsford, Grant Gillilan, Matt Thiessen and Kyle Riordan with a time of 3:19.40.  Read more about Kyle in the Canton Repository here.

Leadership Stark County Visits PHS & Knapp

Leadership Stark County is an organization that develops a core of motivated leaders with a lifelong commitment to community trusteeship through training in leadership skills and education about the community. Through their 10-month Signature program, a day is set aside each month to focus on a specific topic pertinent to Stark county’s assets and challenges. For the month of February, education was the theme. Seven members of LSC’s 24th class visited PHS and T.C. Knapp Elementary, where they learned very quickly how education has changed over the years, with a focus on 21st Century learning. < Click here to view the video. >

Perry Band Scotch Doubles Night

Saturday, February 5,  at the AMF Hall of Fame Lanes.  Tickets are $25 per couple and are open to anyone who wishes to participate.  The cost includes shoes, bowling door prizes, food, and fun!  All proceeds will benefit the Perry Band Program. For tickets or more information, call Chris Smith at 330-477-4487.

Are you looking for a great PHS Marching Band memory?

As we move to retire our nearly 20 year old band uniforms, we are transforming them into 13” x 13” pillows you can treasure forever.  Orders can be placed until March 15, 2011!  Please make checks payable to Perry Band Boosters and mail to: Christine Smith 5233 Charm St., S.W. Canton, Ohio 44706. Cost is $25.00 each. Please allow 6 -8 weeks for delivery. For more information call (330) 477-4487. Click here for an order form.

PHS Alumni Scholarship Dance

March 5, 2011
9:00pm – 12:00am (doors open at 8:00pm)
McKinley Eagles (5024 Monticello Street N.W.)
$20.00 per person – includes admission and refreshments
Featuring Jimmy & The Soulblazers
Proceeds benefit the scholarship program.

Tickets may be purchased by contacting Fred at 330-478-2413 or Terry at 330-327-4426.

PHS Speech and Debate

For the third week in a row, the Perry Speech and Debate Team took first-place sweepstakes honors.  There were 35 schools in attendance at the Wooster Varsity Invitational on Saturday, January 22.  Receiving individual honors were:  Justin Woody and Alli Francis (Champions – Duo Interp), Kim Rose and Suzi Shapuite (3rd – Duo), Caleb Snyder (2nd – Humor), Travis Williams (6th – Humor), Mariah Glascock (4th – Oratorical), Austin Black (2nd – Prose/Poetry), Matt Meeks (3rd – USX), Charlie Jeffreys (5th – IX), Erin Moore (5th – Impromptu), Laura Markley (4th – Impromptu), and Nick Bentley (5th – Super Congress).
Finishing in the top six in Student Congress chambers were:  Ben McGavin, Calvin Curtin, Mike Audi, and Aaron Dauterman.  Semi-finalists included:  Meghan Vodopich, Seth Boda, and Brittni Walter.
Quarter-finalists in Policy Debate were Emily Mayfield and Anna Liebler, and Tod Mohney and Karen Zimmer.
Congratulation Perry Speech and Debate.