Latest News for Perry Local Schools

Are you looking for a great PHS Marching Band memory?

As we move to retire our nearly 20 year old band uniforms, we are transforming them into 13” x 13” pillows you can treasure forever.  Orders can be placed until March 15, 2011!  Please make checks payable to Perry Band Boosters and mail to: Christine Smith 5233 Charm St., S.W. Canton, Ohio 44706. Cost is $25.00 each. Please allow 6 -8 weeks for delivery. For more information call (330) 477-4487. Click here for an order form.


On Friday, October 22nd, the 2010 Inductees to the PHS Athletic Hall of Fame were announced during the Perry vs. Jackson football game. The 2011 class includes: Archie Herring (1986), Leslie Shoppelrey (1990) , Tom Pukys (1986),  Dick Nelson (1962), Alison Heppe (1997), Chuck Jolliff (1981) and Jamie Howell (1984).

This year’s induction dinner will be Thursday, February 3, 2011, at 6:00pm at the Executive Events Center in Perry Township.  Tickets are $30.00 and may be purchased by contacting Tracy Schlup at or 330-477-8121 ext. 311.

PHS Alumni Scholarship Dance

March 5, 2011
9:00pm – 12:00am (doors open at 8:00pm)
McKinley Eagles (5024 Monticello Street N.W.)
$20.00 per person – includes admission and refreshments
Featuring Jimmy & The Soulblazers
Proceeds benefit the scholarship program.

Tickets may be purchased by contacting Fred at 330-478-2413 or Terry at 330-327-4426.

Perry Junior High Wrestling Team

The Perry Jr. High Wrestling Team has been working extremely hard this season and has enjoyed some success. But they are not content with what they have accomplished thus far.

The team is made up of 7th and 8th graders from Pfeiffer and Edison. This season they have first place finishes at the Wadsworth, Meadowbrook, Cambridge and Waynedale tournaments. They also finished first at the Federal League Dual Tournament with a record of 5-0.


PHS Speech and Debate

For the third week in a row, the Perry Speech and Debate Team took first-place sweepstakes honors.  There were 35 schools in attendance at the Wooster Varsity Invitational on Saturday, January 22.  Receiving individual honors were:  Justin Woody and Alli Francis (Champions – Duo Interp), Kim Rose and Suzi Shapuite (3rd – Duo), Caleb Snyder (2nd – Humor), Travis Williams (6th – Humor), Mariah Glascock (4th – Oratorical), Austin Black (2nd – Prose/Poetry), Matt Meeks (3rd – USX), Charlie Jeffreys (5th – IX), Erin Moore (5th – Impromptu), Laura Markley (4th – Impromptu), and Nick Bentley (5th – Super Congress).
Finishing in the top six in Student Congress chambers were:  Ben McGavin, Calvin Curtin, Mike Audi, and Aaron Dauterman.  Semi-finalists included:  Meghan Vodopich, Seth Boda, and Brittni Walter.
Quarter-finalists in Policy Debate were Emily Mayfield and Anna Liebler, and Tod Mohney and Karen Zimmer.
Congratulation Perry Speech and Debate.

Edison Scholastic Art Award Winners

Congratulations to Edison art students who were recently awarded Scholastic Awards!  Receiving highest gold key honors are ninth graders Kaitlin Andrews and Hector Cuellar.  Their works are being sent on to New York City for national judging.  Silver key awards were given to eighth graders Kristel Doong and Gabriel Stanton.  These four works, along with the rest of the area winners, can be viewed at Kent State Stark Campus Fine Arts Center until February 4th.

Honorable mention award-winners are eighth graders Logan Awad, Ashley Casterline, Erica Curtin, and ninth grader Gabrielle Geis.

Great job, Edison artists!

Reedurban Remembrance Committee

will be holding their next meeting at Reedurban Elementary in the Cafeteria on Thursday, March 10th at 6:30 PM.  We will be discussing events and schedules for the Spring Open House, Reedurban replica sales and future events in honor of Reedurban Elementary. All are welcome.  If you have any questions regarding this committee, please feel free to contact Andrea Clements, Principal at  330-478-6150.